Samosir 2

Tuk Tuk Timbul
Monday 18.9.89. 9am

This is a place to be disciplined in. One needs to plan how to do nothing – out of bed. I’ve just sat for half an hour unpeeling my nose whilst contemplating my first sentence. Surrounded by couples, I’m more isolated than I was at Smiley’s. Not that I crave company, but it’s a little disorientating. So what do I do?

So far, two water colour sketches, maybe a prelude to oils.

Tom Wolfe’s Bonfire of Vanities read, a few virtuous games of patience and patient waits for meals. Not quite the palm-fringed beach with sun and snorkeling thrown in, but it’ll do.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
NB. For those who doubt the rain in my sketch, look at the The Act of Killing poster image photographed on Samosir.

About Jakartass

A Brit Abroad
This entry was posted in Indonesia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

